Pumpkin Spice Muffin Cookies

So…. I was starving for something a little sweet, but didn’t have standard ingredients – so I went looking online for some inspiration, and then blended together a couple of recipes. What I ended up with was pumpkin spiced cookies that bake into perfect mounds, like the top of a muffin. MMMMmmmmm, so freakin’ good! Nice and moist in the middle, not too sweet, very spice muffin-like.

This little guy did not survive long after this photo was taken. His family disappeared too...

Here’s the recipe, for posterity, before I forget:

Blend wet ingredients:

1 & 1.4 c. pumpkin (make sure it’s plain pumpkin in a can, not pre-made pumpkin pile filling in a can)
1/4 c. margerine
1/4 c. unsweetened apple sauce (rather than a whole 1/2 c. margerine)
1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/4 c.creamed honey (I used Kittilsen’s wild flower honey)
Few splashes vanilla
1 egg white and 1 full egg

Add dry ingredients and blend in with rubber spatula or spoon:

2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1 1/4 c. whole wheat flour
3/4 c. white flour (I actually used the easy blend Robin Hood stuff in the cannister, because it was all I had)
*If it seems TOO wet, add a bit more flower of either kind, whatever your preference – should be able to mash around with a spatula – it’s not the kind of cookie dough you could roll in a ball – if it is, you added WAY to much flour
3 tsp. pumpkin spice
cinnamon – to taste – I just found the pumpkin spice didn’t have enough cinnamon

Optional: Raisins or apple bits – I did a few with raisin, but tthe majority without. I think apples would be great in them though.

Chill in the fridge for an hour (or if you’re impatient like me, throw it in the freezer for 15-20 min.).

I put them on a baking sheet sprayed with Pam-type cooking spray, and baked for 10-14 minutes at 320 degrees. They turn nice and firm and rough, like a muffin (best part of the muffin!), and the bottom should be nicely deep brown. If you break one open, it will look like the inside of a nice, dense muffin. Makes about 2 dozen big cookies.

These are so freaking good.

I’m exhausted now – I think I probably shouldn’t have gotten so adventurous. Off to lay down…

Try these cookies… you will love them, I swear!

2 Comments

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food

2 responses to “Pumpkin Spice Muffin Cookies

  1. cookingmary

    I’d like to personally invite you to join the CookEatShare Author network. CookEatShare has had over 2.5 million unique visitors in 2009, and I think they will be interested in your content. Users will be guided to your actual blog, so this is a free way to increase page views and visitors to your site.

    Please visit http://cookeatshare.com/blogs/apply for additional information or contact me at mary@cookeatshare.com for more information, to get unique link to claim and customize your profile.

  2. These sound so good, I will get pumkin and try them very soon. Think I’ll add some ground flax.

Leave a Reply

