Pizza Pizza! Whole Wheat Pizza Dough From Scratch!

So yesterday we had pizza and more pizza. Yipes!

...read on below to learn more about this delicious looking whole wheat pizza!

...read on below to learn more about this delicious looking whole wheat pizza!

First, for lunch, I made a quick pita pizza with:

  • Classico Pesto
  • Rosemary Deli Ham (Sobeys Grocery Store)
  • Organic Baby Spinach
  • Whole Wheat Pita
  • Sliced Mushroom
  • Monterey Jack Cheese
Pita Pizza!

Pita Pizza!

I actually couldn’t eat it all, so gave almost half to my husband. He liked it so much he wanted to make his own pita pizza last night, but I stopped him because I’d decided I was going to experiment with a whole wheat pizza dough FROM SCRATCH!

So, for dinner (the pizza in the photo at the top of this post):

I used this recipe, ‘Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust, submitted by Marla at Allrecipes.com.

The only changes I made were to use 2 1/2 c. whole wheat flour (I use Speerville’s Flour Mill Organic Stone Ground Whole Wheat) instead of 2 c., and only 3/4 c. white flour instead of 1 c. I found that the flour it called for, all together, was too much, and dropped 1/4 c. off the full recipe.

I meant to take pictures during the process, but entirely forgot, so perhaps next time. I had never made dough of any sort with yeast before, so this was very new to me – quite an experience!

Once I had everything mixed and kneaded together per the recipe, I let sit for about 1 hour. It rose SO MUCH! I then split it into two dough balls, firmed up, and let sit to rise again 45 minutes. Again, rose up SO much. Only problem was that my husband was cooking Kaiden chicken strips in the oven, and I had my bowls sitting on top of the stove to rise, so the heat from the oven made the dough form a light crust over the top, almost like it was rising. Didn’t hurt anything though.

I used two large non-stick pizzas pans, and sprayed lightly with a vegetable oil spray just to be save. I then pressed the dough right on to the pan and spread from there like I normally do, rather than following the recipes directions to roll out on another surface, etc.

On my pizza went:

  • Kraft Pizza Sauce
  • Light Mozzarella
  • Oregano
  • Light Parmesan
  • Pieces of turkey bacon and Cherry wood smoked deli ham
  • Mushrooms
  • Green Pepper

On my husband’s pizza went:

  • Turkey Bacon, Ham, Pepperoni
  • Mushrooms, Green Peppers
  • Catelli Spicy Onion & Garlic Pizza Sauce
  • Parmesan, Oregano and Mozzarella

I didn’t get a picture of his, but did get pictures of mine. I only managed to eat 2 pieces, and put the rest into baggies after cooling and threw in the fridge to see how well they’ll reheat in the oven today for me and the kiddo.

Just after going into the oven - had forgotten to take a raw picture.

Just after going into the oven - had forgotten to take a raw picture.

Crunchy Whole Wheat Crust Tastiness!

Crunchy Whole Wheat Crust Tastiness!

Check out that crunchy crust!

Check out that crunchy crust!

The Verdict: It took a few bites to get used to, but this crust was REALLY good. The edges were super crunchy, though the middle was a bit sofy from sweating when we let it cool on the counter. I cooked at 425 degrees for about 22 minutes.

The husband said it tasted like Brown Bread at first, but then decided he liked it too after getting into his own pizza.

The dough takes a long time to make, but seems almost fool proof and is VERY well worth the wait! Much better than the pre-made store-bought whole wheat doughs that look like frisbees. Yuck!

1 Comment

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food

One response to “Pizza Pizza! Whole Wheat Pizza Dough From Scratch!

  1. javamama25

    I love pita pizza even more than regular pizza. I also love tortilla pizza. It has a really thin crust but SO delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

