Breakfast Bonanza – Treated Myself!

So I got up this morning and thought, ‘It’s Saturday – I can take some time to make breakfast!

I felt like an egg sandwich, but of course, wanting to keep the calories down, got creative with my grocery shopping yesterday. I picked up a carton of egg whites, some turkey bacon, and some Monterey Jack cheese, for a change, since the slices were on sale. I also bought a tonne of English muffins, as they were on buy one package, get two packages free. For this week’s snacks, I bought 1% cottage cheese, and strawberries (Dole brand) which were on sale for $3.99 for a giant carton.

SO, this morning the logical choice was – and egg sandwich, made with (more) healthy ingredients, with a side of cottage cheese and strawberries. The end result was this:

Healthy Egg Sandwich & Cottage Cheese with Strawbrries - YUM!

Healthy Egg Sandwich & Cottage Cheese with Strawberries - YUM!

This included:

  • One toasted English muffin (140 calories)
  • Few pieces of green pepper and 1 mushroom sliced (to which the egg white mixture was added)
  • 1/4 c. egg whites with sea salt, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, and a bit of 2% milk. I only actually used half of this on my muffin, and gave the rest to my son. (Alone maybe 20 calories, but with above veggies, I’ll say 25 calories per half of the amount made)
  • One slice Monterey Jack cheese (90 calories)
  • 1.5 pieces of butterball turkey bacon (53 calories)
  • 1/4 c. of 1% Cottage Cheese (55 Calories)
  • 3 large strawberries (20 calories)

Total Calorie Consumption: 383 Calories

The awesomely awesome egg white, turkey bacon & Monterey Jack breakfast sandwich!

The awesomely awesome egg white, turkey bacon & Monterey Jack breakfast sandwich!

1% Cottage Cheese and Sliced Strawberries! Delicious!

1% Cottage Cheese and Sliced Strawberries! Delicious!

Today’s Plans:

Today is my best friend’s little boy’s first birthday party, so when my husband gets home from work, I am off to pick out a gift for him, and then later today we will head to the party. 🙂 My boy is VERY excited. He loves birthday parties. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food, Dee's Random Thoughts, Dee's Weigh-Ins & Progress Updates

One response to “Breakfast Bonanza – Treated Myself!

  1. javamama25

    Hope you had a great time at the party! Your breakfast looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

