Pain is not my friend…

Forgive me this short post, but I am HURTING. My neck/shoulder is messed up (have massage and chiropractic appointments booked tonight and tomorrow), and sitting at the computer in this sad excuse for a computer chair is incredibly uncomfortable. I think I overdid it yesterday – in office chairs or theatre chairs pretty much straight through until 9pm last night, with work, an H1N1 information session, and my monthly Board meeting last night. It didn’t feel too bad when I went to bed, though stiff, but now I’ve been up since about 4:00 a.m. getting my fill of muscle relaxer, anti-inflammatory and hot water bottle (since it’s been sore a couple days now but got worse over night … pharmacist said heat is okay after the first 24-48 hours). I’m really hoping that my goals of getting fit will contribute to an overall healthier me – including my neck/shoulder issues, which have been chronic/recurring for years now.

I also managed to pull or bruise a muscle at the back of my leg, below the calf, but that is starting to feel better with the anti-inflammatories, and I fell asleep with the hot water bottle under that spot last night. I haven’t been able to work otu the last two days because of all of this, and its a bit discouraging, because I was doing really well. I feel kind of miserable NOT exercising… makes me feel blah, sluggish and just not myself now.

Yesterday’s Eats:

Yesterday breakfast was Special K Red Berry, followed by mid-morning snack of Kashi Natural Ranch crackers and cheese, and for lunch I was at a luncheon session, so I just had a half an egg salad sandwich on a croissant. I then had my Board meeting starting at 7:00 and didn’t have time to make dinner, so asked my hubby to baked me a small chicken breast with pesto and some plain brussels sprouts while I was gone. It was 9 before I got to eat it, which is bad, but it’s only a once a month things, so it’s all right. Had a bit of caesar salad with light dressing too.

Dee’s Random Thoughts:

In brighter news, at our office Biggest Loser weigh-in on Monday, I had gone down another 4 pounds. 🙂 That made my day!

Today’s Eats:

For breakfast today my son and I had rolled oats.

What's cooking?

What's cooking?

Added to mine after it was cooked:

  • sprinkling of ground flax seed
  • local blueberries (which were frozen, but I defrosted in cold water)
  • bit of brown sugar and cinnamon (less than usual)
  • a tablespoon or so of low-fat vanilla yogurt on top

It was DELICIOUS! Ther vanilla yogurt really added to it, and I liked the addition of ground flax seed for some extra Omega 3 nutrtional value. 🙂

Yummy breakfast.

Yummy breakfast.

Thanks for reading! I’m heading back to lay down with my next dose of muscle relaxer and my new best friend – the hot water bottle. Those things sure do hold heat a long time!

1 Comment

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food, Dee's Random Thoughts

One response to “Pain is not my friend…

  1. Jennifer

    I found that when I lost the weight my ankle had less problems. They were so painful! I can’t imagine how you must be feeling with this neck pain! ugh. Hopefully you will recover soon! Great job with the 4 lb loss! You’re doing awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

