Healthy Wife, Happy Life?

First of all, I had NO desire whatsoever to work out tonight. I just wanted to curl up in bed. BUT then I realized my taste testing today included organic chocolate chip cookies, and I ought to work out – had a few extra calories to take care of! Oh but they were WELL worth it! Tasty, tasty, tasty!

So anyway, you know the old saying, ‘Happy Wife, Happy Life?‘ Well, I was thinking about how patient and supportive my husband has been in my quest thus far to get healthy – especially considering the food I’ve made him eat, and the late night exercising I do. AND considering a couple of rough moments I’ve had – like a disheartening fight with the scale (a battery needed replacing and it was discovered the numbers were off a bit) which led him to assure me that HE’S noticed a difference in me, so clearly the scale doesn’t know what it’s talking about. Have I mentionned I love this man? And he’s prone to blunt honesty, so I quite believe him. (Those of you who know him, know what I am talking about. *laugh*)

Tonight I was especially grateful that he is who is, and loves me like he does, when I headed for our bedroom (where my elliptical, weights, etc. are) to workout at 9:10 p.m. promising to only be 30 minutes. He was on his way to bed, and my elliptical is anything but quiet. Supportive fellow that he is, he curled up in bed, threw the blankets over his head, and ignored the noise, lights, and TV. Now that’s a good man!

What’s worse is I stretched my 30 minute plan into 35 minutes of cardio on hte elliptical and 25 minutes of weights (one 12-15 rep set of each that I do, and 40 crunches) – and STILL he did not make a peep. I love that man!

He puts up with my recent obsessions because he knows its something I need to do for me, and that me being healthy will make for a HAPPY wife, and well, as the old saying goes – Happy Wife, Happy Life! *laughs*

So to close off my night, a rundown of todays foodstuffs:

  • Snack was a treat with my baby boy, to go with some cartoons since there were no kid’s movies on – some air-popped popcorn with a sprinkle of light parmesan and (fairly) local butter (Tatamagouche Creamery – as local as it gets, though it’s not produced by Scotsburn). This is GOOD butter.
  • Lunch started out as a spinach salad with boiled egg yoke – but it was a disgusting combination in my books, so was disposed of quickly and replaced with leftover chicken soup.
  • Remaining chicken soup was packed up into seven 1 c. serves in containers to freeze for lunches this week and next.
  • Dinner was chicken breast baked in oven with Classico Red Wine and Herb Sauce again, served on a bed of spinach (MAN those go well together!), with about 1 c. plain microwaved President’s Choice Peaches & Cream Corn. Nopt the best thin g to eat later at night since it’s starchy, but it was SOOO yummy and filling!
Mmmm mmm good!

Mmmm mmm good!

Now off to bed so I can get up early enough to make rolled oats for breakfast before I head to the office! Night all!

3 Comments

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food, Dee's Random Thoughts

3 responses to “Healthy Wife, Happy Life?

  1. Hi Dee,

    Thanks so much for your comments on my blog, and for reading! I am also in Canada (Toronto area) and buy my agave nectar at the health food store. If you have a major supermarket near you (such as Loblaws, Sobeys, etc.), you can also look in their natural/organic section. It comes in little bottles and is a bit pricey, but you don’t need as much agave as sugar. You could also substitute maple syrup in the sorbet without too much change in texture. Hope this helps and let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  2. Jennifer

    I have always believed that a supportive husband will put up with just about anything if it makes his wife happy (and in the long run helps her grow as a person). Jason was really supportive last summer when I went through my health journey. Sometimes kicking me in the butt every once in a while (figuratively speaking). 🙂
    You’re doing a great job! Exercising when you really don’t want to is admirable.

  3. My boyfriend has been incredibly supportive as well. I’m the opposite, I’m up at 5:30-6am every day to work out. And while he teases me for my early bedtimes, he’s always compliant with me. Even better, he told me my training this summer inspired him to get back into cycling again, which is wonderful!! 😀

    Aww, Tatamagouche! I have a cottage not too far from there, we had a lot of fun day trips there when I was growing up 🙂

Leave a Reply

