Dinner: Homemade Chicken Soup!

So, I think it bears clarification that not only do I have a history of poor eating, but I ALSO have a history of some terrible cooking – so not only am I experimenting with eating healthy; I am also experimenting with HOW to cook them.

Tonight I wanted something hearty, but low carb. Unfortunately that went out the window as I ALSO misbehaved a bit and had some cornbread – but we’ll get to that later. I also wanted what I cooked to be enough to make me lunches for my 2 days in the office this week, plus an extra for next week.

My solution? Let’s give homemade chicken soup a try! Unfortunately I am not a fan of skin or fat, etc. on my chicken (chicken breast is about as far as I’m willing to extend myself with chicken OR turkey), so I realized I would have to do this with chicken breast and get flavor from elsewhere.

So here’s what I threw together in a pot – I wish I could give measurements on some of these things, but I DIDN’T measure (that’s the mark of a true cook anyway, right?) some of them – spices, etc.

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts went into the pot first, chopped in three pieces each
  • Followed by 4 cups of water to help cook it
  • Couple teaspoons of Knorr Instant Chicken Stock Mix (which, can I say, smells like something you would NOT want to eat)
  • Poultry Seasoning and Summer Savory

My goal was to let the chicken cook through, chop it up a bit more, and have the flavor throughout before adding more veggies and water. Next, I added:

  • 2 onion, chopped into large pieces
  • 5 (locally grown, Avery’s Farm Market) parsnips, peeled and chopped – these are new to us, and I have to say they just look like an albino carrot and have miserable texture raw – but tasted great cooked.
  • A tonne of carrots (locally grown, Avery’s Farm Market), maybe 8 or so, not peeled, and chopped – these were SO fresh and had great flavor!
  • Few stalks of celery (Avery’s Farm Market)

After a few minutes of letting everything simmer together, my husband convinced me potatoes were needed, though I was trying to avoid them, so I gave in and peeled and chopped up 3 (locally grown, picked up at the Truro Farmer’s market – BEAUTIFUL potatoes) to add to the pot.

We added some salt and pepper, and then nearer to the end I dumped in some President’s Choice Peaches and Cream frozen corn. As a side note, this stuff is hands down THE best frozen corn I have EVER tasted, and I haven’;t bought anything else in months despite the price being higher than what I used to buy. I can heat this corn in a bowl in the microwave, no butter, no salt, and just chow down. GOOD stuff! Totally recommend if you’re from Canada and able to get them from the Atlantic Superstore.

The Verdict: I make one darn good chicken soup! I am quite proud of myself! It made plenty too, so I frozen three one cup servings for two lunches this week and one next, and let me husband at the rest. My son ate a FULL bowl, every last drop! If there’s any left after hubby’s done with it, I’ll freeze those leftovers too.

Doesn't that look tasty?

Doesn't that look tasty?

Now, of course, I was a bad, bad girl and served myself a nice bowl with some… wait for it… cornbread. I know, terribly heavy for an evening meal, especially when that evening meal was later than usual – BUT I had to try the Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground Cornmeal Muffin/Cornbread Mix I picked up on sale, and this seemed the perfect occasion and dish to serve it with.

SCRUMPTIOUS! Bob's Red Mill Stone Ground Cornmeal Muffin/Cornbread Mix and homemade chicken soup!

SCRUMPTIOUS! Bob's Red Mill Stone Ground Cornmeal Muffin/Cornbread Mix and homemade chicken soup!

VERDICT (CORNBREAD): Now, I am sure you want to know how that cornbread was, right? Well, I have to say it was absolutely scrumptious! I had to force myself not to eat more – it was that good. It was not really sweetened, like some cornbread mixes, and was just about right. Came out nice and crunchy on the outside, and just right in the middle. I would definitely buy this mix again, probably even when not on sale if I wasn’t feeling up to making cornbread homemade.

Well now, I think I’m off to bed shortly – got myself a good 60 minute workout in on the elliptical. Have some new song choices to share that I’ll post about later if I do head to bed right away!

2 Comments

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food

2 responses to “Dinner: Homemade Chicken Soup!

  1. Angela

    Dezz,
    When I make my homemade Chicken Soup I use the liquid Chicken broth, you don’t add water to it ( no name brand it’s $1.99 for a carton, mind you I use 4 of them but I make a ton of soup and freeze it) I find it gives the soup a much fresher taste!! I used to use the powdered boullion but now all I use is the liquid. Along with that I put corn, tons of carrots, potatoes, chicken breast shredded up, pepper, onion and I found turnip was good in it too and I buy a small bag of egg noodles and put a few in to make it more hearty. Homemade is the way to go!!

    • deefit

      Thanks Ang – I’m glad to see someone else puts corn in it! Brad thought I was nuts. LOL I’ll have to check out the nutritional info on the boxed ones – Superstore or Sobeys? Neither Brad nor I were a fan of this powdered stuff. It stinks to high heaven! I won’t do noodles, simply because I’m trying to avoid some of those old vices of mine. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

