Breakfast: Rolled Oats With Miracle Toppings (Inspired by KathEats.com)

Okay, so they’re not really ‘miracle’ toppings, but they sure did make our rolled oats taste good. I’ve not had oats since I was a little girl, aside from the Quaker Instant single serving packets.

So yesterday I picked up a bag of Quaker Rolled Oats (large flake) to give oatmeal a try. I figured I’d start off small and not spend money on the local or steel cut just yet until I determined if I liked it.

My first attempt went horribly wrong and ended up in the garbage – I’m not sure what I did, but all of the water disappeared and the oats didn’t cook. My second attempt turned out much better, and I served up a nice big 1 cup dish for my son and I (my husband didn’t want any) to get us through our day.

Now, the most important thing here was the toppings – seeing all of the lovely rolled oats combinations over at KathEats.com really inspired me to give it a try and be creative!!! Who knew oatmeal in the morning could be sauch a treat, and a (fairly) healthy way to start the day at the same time!

For Kaiden I crumbled up half a pumpkin square htat I bought yesterday for him at Avery’s Farm Market, and a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar. He LOVED it:

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolled Oats For The Boy

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolled Oats For The Boy

For myself, I defrosted some of our (tonnes) of frozen locally grown blueberries, and topped with the same cinnamon/brown sugar mixture (heavily cinnamon, rather than being mostly brown sugar). Now THIS was DIVINE! Who knew I could like good old fashioned rolled oats so much!

Blueberry Cinnamon Rolled Oats For Mommy

Blueberry Cinnamon Rolled Oats For Mommy

So, the VERDICT: Rolled oats with creative toppings will definitely be added to our regular diet from now on!I think next I’ll try blueberries and vanilla yogurt.

Thanks to Kath at KathEats.com for being so inspirational! đŸ™‚ I recommend anyone reading check out her blog – very inspirational and some incredibly yummy and nutritious creations to be found there!

2 Comments

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food

2 responses to “Breakfast: Rolled Oats With Miracle Toppings (Inspired by KathEats.com)

  1. Jennifer

    HOLY YUM! Looks so good! Glad you are liking Kath’s blog as much as I do! Such awesome recipes. Keep it up Dez!

  2. Jennifer

    Can I just say that I love that Kaiden is reaping benefits from this as well! I love that about when we start to eat healthy our family benefits from it too! It must make you a happy mama when he LOVES your healthy cooking. To me that is an awesome reward in itself. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

