Lunch: Pita Pizza with Red Wine & Herb Sauce, Spinach, Mushrooms and Ricotta/Mozza.

So, another pita pizza for lunch today, but thought I’d change things up a bit:

  • One whole wheat pita (150 calories)
  • 1 tbsp. Classico Red Wine & Herb Sauce, spread evenly (about 8 calories)
  • Layer of organic baby spinach leaves (Pretty much null on calories – maybe 2? 3 cups is about 35 calories)
  • 1 tbsp. of Ricotta cheese, spread on a few strategic spinach leaves (15 calories)
  • Two (white) mushrooms, sliced and layered (10 calories or less)
  • Light Mozzarella (about a 1/2″ thick slice on a large block, grated – I know, it looks like a lot, but it’s not) (about 10o calories)
  • Parmesan (20 calories)
  • Oregano, pinch sprinkled on top of the mozza

TOTAL = 305 Calories. But that doesn’t worry me so much, since everything in there is essentially good for me, and I kept the cheese to a minimum. Half of that is the pita alone of course.

Tossed in the oven at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until the cheese browns. Remove to a plate, slice, and EAT!

I sliced mine into 8 pieces, which was a feat in and of itself, as it’s not a large pita – so my pieces were the size of chips or something, and made me feel like I ate more.

VERDICT: VERY tasty! I am LOVING spinach.

Tasty Spinach & Mushroom Pita Pizza

Tasty Spinach & Mushroom Pita Pizza

2 Comments

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food

2 responses to “Lunch: Pita Pizza with Red Wine & Herb Sauce, Spinach, Mushrooms and Ricotta/Mozza.

  1. Jennifer

    I LOVE spinach! It is super fab sauteed with green onion and smidgen of butter. I love laying some fresh grilled salmon on top of it. It looks so luxurious and it is one of the shortest, easiest meals to make! 🙂

    • deefit

      LOL. That’s funny – that’s why I put it under my chicken last night – just because it looked nice! But I ended up eating it WITH the chicken. 😛

Leave a Reply

