Dinner – Chicken Breast w/ Classico Red Wine and Herb Sauce and Lightly Seasoned Stir Fry Veggies

So tonight, I again wanted to try something differently rather than plain baked chicken breast (a whole one, so 250 calories). When grocery shopping, I had been reading labels on pasta sauces, and found that Classico’s Red Wine & Herb Sauce had one of the lowest calorie counts per 1/2 c. serving – 60 calories.  So tonight I decided to put it to use! I baked a boneless, skinless chicken breast with 1/4 c. of this sauce on top (30 calories), plus a sprinkle of light Parmesan. I served this on a bed of baby spinach, which I actually ended up wrapping around chicken pieces – went well together.

As a side, I stir-fried, with a tiny bit of olive oil and some oriental seasoning, a bit of mixed frozen Asian veggies Arctic Gardens, Asian Style Mix – VERY tasty and fresh). Portion was about 2 cups, so 140 or so calories, plus add maybe another 25 for seasoning and olive oil = 165 calories.

Total meal was about 455 calories, so under my goal of less than 500 calories per dinner meal, and fully healthy. It amazes me how much better a meal is when I pay attention to what goes into it.

Deeeelicious!

Deeeelicious!

Try chicken breast this way some time – I did it on a whim and I’m glad I did. It was fabulous! The next Classico one I have to try is Tomato and Basil I believem and also 60 calories per 1/2 c. serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Dee Experiments With Food

One response to “Dinner – Chicken Breast w/ Classico Red Wine and Herb Sauce and Lightly Seasoned Stir Fry Veggies

  1. Jennifer

    GREAT site! Putting this on my favorites fo’ shizzle!

Leave a Reply

